Motivation Monday – Where did it go?

This GeneaBloggers prompt appeared as I was scrolling through my GoogleReader.  Usually I enjoy the posts in the assorted blogs and almost always find something I can use in my research. This morning, though, I have lost the “genealogy motivation.”

I was planning on writing another Military Monday post but I couldn’t find any motivation over the week-end either!  I guess that means it’s time to take a break.

Does this happen to you?  What do you do to get the motivation back?

4 thoughts on “Motivation Monday – Where did it go?

  1. I haven’t been blogging for very long, but as far as genealogy motivation I have lost that in the past. I don’t usually try to get the motivation back, it usually comes back on its own, or after viewing other people’s research or finding new records are available. I’m sure your motivation will return. 🙂

  2. I stay motivated by connecting with family members and other researchers. I recently lost my motivation too, mainly because I wasn’t finding what I was looking for in terms of my own family history. I also read other blogs that help motivate me to keep going and since I don’t like to give up that easily, I just keep at it until I find some little tidbit of information I can use that just furthers my research along. When I’m searching my family’s ancestry I feel more connected to them and this keeps me inspired! I hope you get your genealogy mojo back because I love reading your articles!

  3. With school starting up soon, my motivation has been usurped by more pressing matters. I feel bad that I just can’t find the time to decide what to write about, but on the other hand, I know if I do come up with something, it will just drive me back into research and fact-checking. Then I spend the whole day writing a blog post 3 people might read, and get nothing else done *L*. It’s always easier when it just comes naturally. 🙂

  4. Sometimes returning to an overlooked branch or task I didn’t have enough time for earlier revives my interest in mysteries not yet solved. My motivation usually returns on its own … I hope it’s the same for you!

Leave a Reply

