Follow Friday – Historypin blogpost on My Blog..My Life. My Ancestry

On My Blog..My Life. My Ancestry, kellyvial wrote a great piece on a website I had heard of but not really explored:  historypin.  See Thrifty Thursday ~ Historypin

She does a great job of explaining some of the websites features, so I’ll just say that I’m looking forward to exploring the site.  It looks like that will take some time!  And it is a free site, which is what I am always looking for in my journey of “Genealogy in the Recession.”

When I looked at Collections, the first Featured Collection was of the 1906 Earthquake and Fire by San Francisco MTA Archives.  This was of special interest to me because one of my gg grand aunts, Euphemia Narcissa Johnson Russell Copeland, died that day, Wednesday, 18 Apr 1906.  The headline read:  “DIED OF FRIGHT, Earthquake This Morning Ended the Earthly Career of Mrs. E. N. Copeland”

Aunt Fee was in Watsonville, about 90 miles from San Francisco.  Seeing those photos on HistoryPin really adds to what I thought I knew about that day.  No wonder she died of fright!

Take a look at My Blog..My Life. My Ancestry, especially the post on HistoryPin.  I think you’ll enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

